Sat. Jul 24th, 2021

Sofola Commissions Renovated Primary Schools

The recent renovations of Ayeroju Primary School, Oworoshoki and Ifako Nursery and Primary School, Ifako, by Kosofe Local Government Chairman, Hon. Afolabi Sofola, has given students of both schools a rekindled passion to learn.

After a violent downpour destroyed several classrooms in both schools last year, Hon. Afolabi Sofola deemed the situation a major priority of his administration as the academic activities of students were at stake.

On Friday, 22 January, 2021, four months after the incident, two blocks of renovated classrooms were officially commissioned by representatives of the Chairman at the affected schools.

The C.D.C Chairman of Kosofe Local Government, Hon. Segun Babatunde, who was the Council Chairman’s envoy at the commissioning of Aiyeroju Nursery and Primary school’s five newly refurbished classrooms, appealed to the school’s authorities to make prudent use of the renovations, as they were made to facilitate conducive academic learning for its pupils and to discourage them from activities of cultism and other acts of malice.

Hon. Segun Babatunde also lauded the Council Chairman’s dedication to education and student welfare in the local government and reiterated that, “when the environment is conducive, pupils will be ready to learn. The issue of cultism will not be on their minds.”

The Vice-Chairman of the Local Government, Hon. Omotuyi Awosola was also the Council Chairman’s envoy at the concurrent commissioning of Ifako Nursery and Primary school, Ifako. In his address, he was full of praise for the Council Chairman’s initiative and timely response to the situation, and reminded those present of Sofola’s administrative mission to provide conducive learning environments for both students and teachers of local government primary schools.

Executives of Kosofe Local Government present at the events include the Secretary to the Local Government, Hon. Abayomi Ologbonori; the Supervisor for Agric, Youth & Sports, Hon. Oyeyemi Oyetayo; the Supervisor for Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation, Hon. Funmilayo Owolabi; the Council Treasurer, Pastor Tunde Olugbuyi; Ward A Councillor, Hon. Sunday Omofojoye; Ward C Councillor and Chief Whip of the Legislative arm, Hon Ibraheem Bakare Olawale; the Council Engineer, Mr. Ekundayo Olabode; and the HOD, Budget, Mrs Modupe Adekola.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *